Motorcycle Safety Foundation Training

Last weekend I had the opportunity, well more like I had to do it in order to ride my new scooter legally, attend a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Training. The training is mandatory in order to get the motorcycle endorsement on my license here in Florida.

saferideIn order to obtain a motorcycle license here in Florida you must do 2 things. 1st take an approved motorcycle safety training course and then once you have that you are able to have the motorcycle endorsement added to your license at the local DMV. I chose to take my training course at Safe Ride (saferide.com) for a couple of reasons. They were one of the cheaper options, and the dealership that I purchased my bike from would give me credit towards service or merchandise for the entire amount that I paid for the class.

I’m not sure what I was expecting from the course. I had thought about taking it back when I had the 50cc scooter just in case I had ever wanted to be able to test ride a larger scooter and to be honest I should have. Even though on the paperwork I was riding a 50cc scooter which required no additional endorsement other than my drivers license I was truly riding an 80cc scooter which should have had an endorsement. On top of that minor detail after taking the course I must say that I feel that I am better suited to handle certain types of situations that I may not have been prepared for in the past.

The course consists of 2 parts: Classroom and Practical Hands On Training. The class size was relatively small with what appeared to be a max of 12 students with 2 instructors that worked together. When I got there they had 3 tables set up, coffee ready and candy on the tables. We started with course work for the first half of the day and then moved out to the practical part of the day. The second day started with practical, followed by the practical exam then a bit of course work followed by the written exam. As long as you pay attention to the training neither test is cause for alarm since the instructors do an excellent job of preparing you for the exams. I will say that this is true if you are willing to listen which everyone in my class did although it sounds like this is not always the case. With Safe Ride however if you would happen to fail either exam they will allow you to come back free of charge and retake that portion.

I guess in short I would recommend taking the class no matter if you are wanting to be able to ride something bigger than a 50 or not. At $145 it will give you the chance to learn while having the instructors critique the way you ride. Please let me know if you have any questions about the class or exams. As always ride safe.

Leave a Reply

