What Ifs

Life is full of what ifs. What if I would have asked someone out, what if I would have gone to college at this place or for this instead of that, what if I didn’t eat that for dinner, and there are probably a billion different what ifs out there. Well lately I have been faced with a major what if in my life. Lately my wife and I have been talking about moving to New York City.

This is a big change from anything I have ever done in my life. Every time I have ever moved to a new city I have spent some time there. Now that being said I wasn’t an aficionado of that area every time. When I moved from Lima to Dayton Ohio I had at least been to the mall, visited there to go to sporting events, knew how to get from there to places I have been before and above all else liked the bits of it I have been to. Later I moved from Dayton back to Lima and honestly even though I was never going to have to go back there again I at least knew what I was getting into. Then I decided to move from Lima to central Florida that was a completely different story, I had been there plenty of times, I knew the good areas, the bad areas and before I arrived I had a job lined up.

Now New York City… I have never been, I’ve seen it on tv, I’ve read about it and I had thought about it but I have never thought I would live there. But why have I thought I would never live there. The cold is one… I’m not a big fan of winter. Crowds are probably my 2nd biggest fear and then with those 2 things it is mostly the unknown. Now what if it is the greatest opportunity I have ever had? When I moved to Central Florida it was to work for the mouse and that was basically it. In the pursuit of that I haven’t reached the goals I wanted but I have had some pretty amazing things happen. I have met some of the best friends I have ever had, I met my beautiful wife, was married here and started our life here together. Those are some pretty big unplanned events so what happens when we take a leap of faith and move somewhere that we have no basis of knowledge on? The one thing I know is ever since I moved down here to Florida I made a vow to not play the “what if” game any longer. I didn’t want to have to ask myself what if on any decision I made. This is impossible but I do my best to keep to my vow. So I guess long story short. I’m more scared about this potential and I emphasize potential move that I am about any move I have ever made before, but at the same time I am also more excited by it than I have ever been excited by a move before and that includes when I moved here to follow my dream. That’s the wonderful thing about dreams… they change and evolve ase we grow and see what is more important over time.

I’ll keep you all posted how it all turns out but thanks for listening even if it had nothing to do with scooters. Be safe out there.

2 Responses to “What Ifs”

  1. I’m glad moving worked out for you. I’ve been a reader, and thought I’d let you know someone is out here.

    The older I get the more I see places were I’ve made a choice which changed the course of my life. At times I look back and wonder how my life would have been different if I’d gone another direction. It isn’t so much of a “what if”, as it is curiosity. I’m grateful to have the life I have. In the end, that’s what matters.
    ~k

Leave a Reply

