When Rain Gear Goes Bad

Last week I had noticed that my rain gear was starting to smell a bit funky… kind of a mix of engine oil and mildew. This prompted me to try and wash my rain gear to get the stench out. I believe this was a very bad idea because since I washed it the rain gear has more of a power of directing water into my jacket instead of repelling it. This morning I set out and less than a mile down the road I turned back to grab a change of clothes. When I got home it looked like I had wet myself with an extremely full bladder and on top of that my shirt was soaked everywhere except the sleeves. Looks like I’m going to need to get some new rain gear.

So what do I want my new rain gear to do other than keep me dry of course. The things I liked about my Dry Ducks when they worked were: They were compact and easy to pack into the scooter. They were light weight but blocked air reasonably well so also worked well on chilly mornings that were too warm for winter gear but too cold to not have a jacket. Now to the bad: Well obviously washing it caused it to quit repelling water but the main flaw in this rain gear was that the flap that covered the zipper is small and allows water to get in so most of you stayed dry but the front of you would get quite wet and sometimes soaked.

So I guess I’m in the market for some new rain gear. I’ll keep you posted on what I find.

2 Responses to “When Rain Gear Goes Bad”

Leave a Reply

