The Good Samaritan and the Bumbling Fool

Tonight was an eye-opening experience in a couple of ways and I guess the best way to tell you about it is to start the story. Tonight I had finished at my karate class and after a long day at work and a good work out in class I was looking very forward to heading home. I made it to my bike, put in the key, turned it, hit the brake and pushed the start button… nothing. Looked at a few things and tried again… nothing. Tried to kick-start it… nothing! At this point I am getting very annoyed by everything and grab my flashlight to take a look at what I can see. I take a look and can’t see anything wrong so I try again… NOTHING!!!!! So it’s time to open it up. I take off the front cover to try to take a look at the wiring to see if I can find anything wrong. After rooting around for a while I find a connector that is not connected to anything. This I thought for sure this was the issue so I went on the search to find the connector that this goes to. During my search I did have one guy stop and try to help. He helped hold the flash light and looked about as confused as I did. He gave up but his attempt at help was very appreciated. So I continued my quest while becoming more and more frustrated. I finally started to give up and put the panels back together coming to the conclusion that I would have to try and take a look at this in the light.

While sitting there on my bike a man stopped by and asked if I was having problems. I told him what was going on and he said that he had no idea how to fix a scooter but he did have a truck and was willing to give me and Pepe a lift home. I gladly accepted his offer and after loading the bike in the back of the truck. I decided to ride in the back to make sure it didn’t fall out which was a an experience. I haven’t felt that red neck since going to a pig roast back home… I will say the pig roast was more fun.

Once I got the bike home I was trying to troubleshoot things and came up with the bright idea that it could be the battery so I was on my way to Wal-Mart to grab a trickle charger to make sure my battery was completely charged and it seemed like it may come in handy in the future. While at Wal-Mart… passing the men in hand cuffs complaining that some (censored) called the po po on me. I was using my phone to look at the my favorite forum for answers I came to a conclusion while looking at a $30 battery charger… I came to the conclusion that I may be the dumbest man in the world and asked myself a very important question… “Did I check the kill switch?” I quickly called my wife to have her check and the findings were heart-breaking and heart-warming all at the same time. I wasn’t sure of course until I got home to find out if I could get my bike to start but I was pretty sure that was it.

I got home and sure enough the kill switch was engaged and after grabbing my keys I found that sure enough I’m an idiot, but on the bright side I did find out there are still good people in this world. One person tried to help and another went out of his way to help me load my bike in the back of his truck and gave me a ride home.  So in all I would say it’s a good day even if I am a moron.

2 Responses to “The Good Samaritan and the Bumbling Fool”

  1. I think every rider has done that. I know I have, but I didn’t have as good of a story to go with it. Just another rider looking at it and pointing out to me the “kill switch” was on. Totally embarrassing. You got a good story and figured it out yourself. Not bad.

    ~Keith
    Circle Blue

Leave a Reply

