Hiccups and Upchucks

Over the last few days I have found myself with a couple unique problems that I had never really thought of having while living in the reality of Zen and the Art of Scooter Maintenance. The other day I was taking a look at my bike in my parking place at the apartment double checking a few things that I knew from my previous bike I had had issues with such as belt wear and carburetor issues. Needless to say both of these items require the bike to be partially taken apart to look at. The good news is that both items are showing none of the signs that I had issues within the past; the bad news is that while I was working on the scooter I was stopped by the apartment manager and told that vehicle work is not permitted to be done in the parking areas at the apartment. This throws a very metaphorically correct wrench (or spanner for my friends from across the pond) in my plan. Part of the joy I have found in owning a scooter is being able to crack it open and work on it on my own. It is fun for me to do work on the scooter and that is not the only reason that I want to be able to continue doing it. The simple task of an oil change is an excellent example of why it is so important to be able to work on it myself. An oil change at the dealership where I bought the scooter cost 30 bucks and when I do it myself it cost around 7. This does bring up an another annoyance of mine since when I do the oil change it takes about 10 minutes and 7 bucks worth of supplies why would it cost 30 bucks to have someone else do it when they can buy the oil in bulk? I use to be able to get a car oil change for less than 30 bucks, but I guess I don’t have control over these things so I’ll have to find another way to get the job done.

Another not so fun adventure I had over the last few days was when I attempted to drive to work the other day. When I woke up I was a bit groggy but other than that I felt fine. Got up and ready for work and still was feeling a bit off but nothing that couldn’t be explained away by being sleepy and not wanting to be awake. Packed my lunch and headed out on the road. It was a bit of a gloomy morning since it had just rained earlier but at least it wasn’t raining as I set out to work so I wasn’t worried about it. As the journey continued my stomach decided to turn on me and let me know exactly how unhappy it was to be out of bed. As I pressed on I was forced with the decision to figure out how to pull over in a safe location, get the kickstand down and get my helmet of before my stomach made its final rebuttal of the morning’s affairs. So there I was on all fours by the side of the road with my helmet by my side being sick as the morning rush hour passed me by. Part of me wanted to crawl into a hole and disappear and the other part of me was hoping that I didn’t disappear too much since I didn’t want my bike to get hit. Many cars passed me by I’m sure seeing what was happening and not taking the time to care but one nice lady did stop behind my bike, turn on her flashers and make sure I was alright. This was probably one of the single nicest things that anyone has done for me since I have been riding my scooter so I would like to say thank you to the very nice lady that stopped even though I doubt she reads my blog.

So be safe out there everyone and thank you to all of my readers.

2 Responses to “Hiccups and Upchucks”

  1. If I’m not mistaken the Orlando Scooter Society (you live in or near Orlando right?) has a wench night every now and again. Where like minded people can get together and work on their rides.

    Their website is http://www.orlandoscootersociety.com/

Leave a Reply

