Breaking in The New Scoot

Breaking in a new scooter is always a bit nerve wracking. Listening for sounds and then once you hear one trying to figure out if the sound is really different or you’re just being paranoid. Something I learned from last time of breaking in a new scooter was that I should go over the bike and double check all the bolts and make sure everything is tight and ready for the road… I forgot this until a few days after riding this time and I think if I would have let it go for a couple more days I would have lost a couple of somewhat important bolts. Now I’m not an expert so I don’t know for sure if bolts do have a tendency to loosen when a scooter is new so I can’t say for sure if this is something that is common with a Chinese scoot or if I should be upset with the dealer because my exhaust bolts were working their way to be lost on the road. Now figuring out that my rear view mirrors were mounted backwards (left to right not actually facing the wrong direction) I can blame on them but it was an easy fix so no worries on that. Yesterday afternoon I did finally get a chance to sit down and go over the bike with a fine tooth comb and tighten up a few bolts and check the oil and such which everything looks like it is up to spec… or at least as far as I know how. I am also trying to be more vigilant on checking and maintaining tire pressures and oil levels this time to make sure we stay in tip top shape.

As I have said before one of the main problems with Chinese scooters is that the speedometer is way off. I have been looking around and seeing what I could find as a solution for speedometer issue and found a lot of information about using a bicycle computer to use as your speedometer. So very soon you can look forward to a gripping tale about installing a bicycle computer to a 50cc scooter which I’m sure thrills you to no end. Also I will be doing another 1st here coming up and that is changing the gear oil in the bike, but if I remember correctly from watching it being done at the shop it will not be very thrilling so I’ll probably not bother putting it into the blog since I wouldn’t want to get you folks too jealous about the exciting life of a scooter owner.

Leave a Reply

